Computer Literacy

Course Outline
Course Schedule
Additional Information

  • Introduction - introduction to the computer and its components, powering on a computer, using the mouse, keyboard, CD-ROM, starting an application, playing a game, intro to a network, a general guide into the capabilities of a computer (using a media file), opening a file, closing a file, etc.
  • Computer and Components - computer systems, input, output, processing, hardware and software and it components, bits and bites, storage size of different secondary storage medium and when it should be used.
  • Windows Vista - The desktop, arranging icons, changing the properties background, colour scheme, screen saver, etc.
  • Working with Programmes - Starting a program, switching between programs, minimizing all open windows, etc.
  • Files and folders - managing, opening, coping, moving, sending, creating shortcuts, changing the name, deleting, etc.
  • How files and folders look - Changing the appearance of items on the desktop, show all files and file name extensions, etc.
  • Microsoft Word - Creating a document, Editing a Document, Formatting Text, Formatting Documents, etc.
  • Microsoft Excel - Working with Cells, Workbook Files, Working with Worksheets, Working with Ranges, Performing calculations, copying, cell and range formatting, etc.
  • Microsoft PowerPoint - Working with a Presentation, creating a presentation, presentation views, (slide, outline, slide sorter and slide show views, working with slides, working with objects, clip arts and pictures, slide transitions, etc.
  • Microsoft Access - Define Database, Creating a simple database, create reports, create query, working with access, building and modifying tables, building and modifying forms, insert delete and amend records, etc.
  • Internet and Email - Internet terms, How to access the Internet, surfing the Internet, reading E-mails, create/send/receive email, adding email address, etc.

Course Offering

DayTimeDurationContact HoursTuition CostLecturer
Tuesdays & Wednesdays

5:00pm to 8:00pm

7 Weeks 42 Hrs $500.00 Ms. Stacy Ramparas
Saturdays 9:00am to 12:00pm or 3:00pm to 6:00pm 14 Weeks 42 Hrs $500.00 Ms. Gail Pettier

 

Tuesday & Wednesday Sessions

Session

Start Date

End Date

1.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Tuesday, March 7, 2017
2.

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Tuesday, May 9, 2017
3.

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

4.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

5.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

 

Saturday Sessions (9:00am - 12:00pm)

Session

Start Dates

End Dates

1.

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Saturday, April 22, 2017

2.

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Saturday, August 12, 2017

3.

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Saturday, December 2, 2017

4.

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Saturday, March 24, 2018

5.

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Saturday, July 14, 2018

 

Saturday Sessions (3:00pm - 6:00pm)

Session

Start Date

End Date

1.

Saturday, February 11, 2017

Saturday, May 13, 2017

2.

Saturday, June 03, 2017

Saturday, September 02, 2017

3.

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Saturday, December 23, 2017

4.

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Saturday, April 14, 2018

5.

Saturday, May 05, 2018

Saturday, August 04, 2018

 

Exams

Students are required to complete a project or practical exam upon completion of the course. Students will receive a certificate of completion.

 

Books

No books Required. CTS will provide all handouts for the programme.

 

Prerequisites

There are no formal prerequisites. If you cannot use a computer or you are limited in what you can do on a computer then this course is for you.

 

Tuition Cost

Cost: TT$500

Monday, January 23, 2017

 Request a Quote 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Upcoming Events

 

information-session
cts-graduation

CTS Graduation 2016

Sunday December 11th, 2016

Hilton Hotel

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Save