Computer Literacy

Course Outline
Course Schedule
Additional Information

  • Introduction - introduction to the computer and its components, powering on a computer, using the mouse, keyboard, CD-ROM, starting an application, playing a game, intro to a network, a general guide into the capabilities of a computer (using a media file), opening a file, closing a file, etc.
  • Computer and Components - computer systems, input, output, processing, hardware and software and it components, bits and bites, storage size of different secondary storage medium and when it should be used.
  • Windows Vista - The desktop, arranging icons, changing the properties background, colour scheme, screen saver, etc.
  • Working with Programmes - Starting a program, switching between programs, minimizing all open windows, etc.
  • Files and folders - managing, opening, coping, moving, sending, creating shortcuts, changing the name, deleting, etc.
  • How files and folders look - Changing the appearance of items on the desktop, show all files and file name extensions, etc.
  • Microsoft Word - Creating a document, Editing a Document, Formatting Text, Formatting Documents, etc.
  • Microsoft Excel - Working with Cells, Workbook Files, Working with Worksheets, Working with Ranges, Performing calculations, copying, cell and range formatting, etc.
  • Microsoft PowerPoint - Working with a Presentation, creating a presentation, presentation views, (slide, outline, slide sorter and slide show views, working with slides, working with objects, clip arts and pictures, slide transitions, etc.
  • Microsoft Access - Define Database, Creating a simple database, create reports, create query, working with access, building and modifying tables, building and modifying forms, insert delete and amend records, etc.
  • Internet and Email - Internet terms, How to access the Internet, surfing the Internet, reading E-mails, create/send/receive email, adding email address, etc.

Course Offering

DayTimeDurationContact HoursTuition CostLecturer
Tuesdays & Wednesdays

5:00pm to 8:00pm

7 Weeks 42 Hrs $500.00 Ms. Stacy Ramparas
Saturdays 9:00am to 12:00pm or 3:00pm to 6:00pm 14 Weeks 42 Hrs $500.00 Ms. Gail Pettier

 

Saturday Sessions 9:00 - 12:00

SessionStart DatesEnd Dates
1. Saturday, January 20, 2018 Saturday, April 21, 2018
2. Saturday, May 12, 2018 Saturday, August 11, 2018
3. Saturday, September 1, 2018 Saturday, December 1, 2018
4. Saturday, December 22, 2018 Saturday, March 23, 2019
5. Saturday, April 13, 2019 Saturday, July 13, 2019

 

Saturday Sessions 3:00 - 6:00

SessionStart DatesEnd Dates
1. Saturday, February 24, 2018 Saturday, May 26, 2018
2. Saturday, June 16, 2018 Saturday, September 15, 2018
3. Saturday, October 6, 2018 Saturday, January 5, 2019
4. Saturday, January 26, 2019 Saturday, April 27, 2019
5. Saturday, May 18, 2019 Saturday, August 17, 2019

 

Tuesday Sessions

SessionStart DatesEnd Dates
1. Tuesday, January 23, 2018 Tuesday, March 6, 2018
2. Tuesday, March 27, 2018 Tuesday, May 8, 2018
3. Tuesday, May 29, 2018 Tuesday, July 10, 2018
4. Tuesday, July 31, 2018 Tuesday, September 11, 2018
5. Tuesday, October 2, 2018 Tuesday, November 13, 2018

 

Exams

Students are required to complete a project or practical exam upon completion of the course. Students will receive a certificate of completion.

 

Books

No books Required. CTS will provide all handouts for the programme.

 

Prerequisites

There are no formal prerequisites. If you cannot use a computer or you are limited in what you can do on a computer then this course is for you.

 

Tuition Cost

Cost: TT$500

 

 Request a Quote 

Save

Save

Save

Upcoming Events

cxc info session 250x250 copy

Free MBA Information Session

Start Date: Saturday 10th March, 2018

Time: 10:00 am - 11:00 am

Venue: Hyatt Regency

View more


BSc Information Session

Start Date: Saturday 24th March, 2018

Time: 10:00 am - 11:00 am

Venue: CTS College

View more